2014.02.05: AGM 2014

The AGM 2014 was well attended and a big success. The schedule of events was followed closely and the initial talks by Kayron Mercieca and Tom Toughill captured the interest of the audience. The AGM's election of committee members unanimously selected the following committee for the year ahead:

President: William Recagno

Secretary: Kevin Desoisa

Treasurer: Joseph Gonzalez

Committee Member: Kayron Mercieca

Committee Member: Tom Toughill

Committee Member: Christian Limacher

Committee Member: Gabriel Perez

Gibraltar Astronomical Society - 28th Annual General Meeting 2014

After much recent success with local DSLR Star Party events hosted by the Gibraltar Astronomical Society (GAS), we would like to formally invite current members and members of the public to talks on Astrophotography and History of Dark Matter and Dark Energy, given by local qualified Astrophysicists Kayron Mercieca and Tom Toughill of the GAS. These talks promise to entice anyone with an interest in astronomy, photography or both.

Following these talks, the President of GAS will outline what has transpired in the last 12 months and what to expect in the year 2014. Secretary of the GAS Kevin Desoisa will also be unveiling the exciting plans for the future of Astronomy in Gibraltar. These plans are in accordance with recent developments and discussions with the Government of Gibraltar’s Ministry for Culture, of which we are the only official recognised astronomical society in Gibraltar.

The event will be followed by the 28th Annual General Meeting (AGM) which will see the official election of the officers to run the GAS for the year ahead. The occasion promises to be a memorable experience and a turning point in the future of the GAS and Astronomy in Gibraltar.  If you have an interest in astronomy or astrophotography, come along to the AGM and meet our professional team and get yourself involved. 2014 promises to be a very exciting year. The talks and meeting will take place on Wednesday 5th February 2014 at 18:00 in Charles Hunt Room, John Mackintosh Hall. Also check us on Facebook for any updates.